Tags

, ,

Since I started this blog a few years back, I have been thinking how to reduce my ecological footprint. In my opinion, it is not acceptable to ask others to make behavioral changes to improve the environment unless I am doing it myself.

In the process of writing this blog, I have read and learnt a considerable amount about the world around us, and how we can help make changes for its betterment. During my stay in the US, I had the opportunity to interact with immigrants from Somalia, and Ethiopia, and hear stories about drought and famine prevalent there. It made we value what we have in the US and India  and how much of our natural resources we take for granted.

Through my journey so far, many events/individuals  have influenced  and reiterated the faith in the path we have taken. Watching the documentary “Nero’s Guest” at Rangashankara,  “Story of Stuff” and the interactions with like-minded people such as Dr. Narayan Reddy, the organic farmer, helped us become more aware of how our choices matter.

Cultural expectations proclaiming bigger is better are prevalent in our society. As a society, material wealth seems to be the prime indicator of an individual’s success.

Living a simple life may conjure images of sacrifice and deprivation. Far from it, I believe it is more about understanding and accepting what is sufficient to live well.

Watching Nero’s Guests and following the changing rural and urban landscape has made me more aware of the consequences of each of my actions. Be it in energy and food consumption, transport and technology usage, or mindfulness and my attitude towards life. Beyond a point, my conscience does not permit me to go to shopping malls, purchase groceries from bazaars, or  waste food and other resources.

The more I read about the various issues facing our world; I am convinced that we need to make a transition towards a more sustainable world. And the transition stems from making changes in our life at the fundamental level.

