Tags

,

Last week, I submitted my resignation. Frankly, it was an easy decision. I have always wanted to go back. Once, the financial obligations were taken care of, there wasn’t much motivation to stay in the US. The decision to move back to India is life-changing for me.

I appreciate all the thoughts, and suggestions  by people regarding my decision to go back. Many people I met told me that India has changed, and it will be difficult to adjust,  life in US is peaceful, there are good career options in the US, attitude of people in professional setting in US is very different from India, traffic in India is nightmarish, there is lot of bureaucracy in India, fruits, vegetables, and other grocery items are adulterated, and so on.

And there is some truth in these statements. Speaking for myself, I feel we underestimate our ability to adapt to our surroundings. When I came to US, it was foreign land. It took me years to get adjusted to life here, though I never got adjusted completely.

It has been 8 years since I came to the US. I came here for my M.S. degree, and then continued to work here. Between my university, workplace, and the non-profit organizations I have been involved with, I have met wonderful people whose friendship, advice, and help (when I needed the most), I will cherish. I have met some amazing, kind-hearted people. I appreciate all the opportunities provided by the United States.

The organizations I have been involved with have been changing lives of people here in the US. But, being a native of India, and witnessing the life of the disadvantaged in India during my growing years, the causes in India resonate with me more.

There is definitely an element of uncertainty in India. I do not have a job waiting for me.  I am taking a leap of faith and hope to be successful in what I do.

I have family and friends in India. It is the country I was born and grew up in. A country where I spent the best days of my life! One cannot put a price on certain sentiments and emotions that matter a lot to you.

