Tags

,

I have been in Hyderabad for a week now. Weather is really hot. To take a welcome break,  we went for a walk to KBR National Park yesterday evening.  It is a short drive from the place  I am currently staying.

Located amidst the metropolis, the Kasu Brahmananda Reddy Park (KBR Park) covers an area close to 150 hectares. Named after the late Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, this picturesque park was established in 1994 to safeguard the biodiversity of the place.

This was my first time at this park. We were greeted by peacocks, and I felt as thrilled as a school-going kid to see so many of them. Since, we had just gone for a evening stroll, we did not take any cameras, but definitely enjoyed the company of birds. As you meander through the walking trail, you can see a variety of plants and shrubs.  It was close to sunset, and watching the sun set over the Hyderabad sky in the park premises was stunning. (Well, I guess, for someone who always loves watching sunrise and sunset, to say that it was stunning, is repetitive, but it definitely was!!!!!)

Home to nearly 600 species of trees, and shrubs, and more than 100 species of birds, reptiles, and butterflies, this park is an ideal place to create environmental awareness for people.

It allows one to take refuge from the bustling city, without leaving the city limits.  On my next visit to India, I hope to spend more time at this park. I tried looking around for some pictures and found that  Ismail Shariff  has some great pictures of KBR Park posted on his  Flickr collection. Check them out!

